Conference Agenda

 

Agenda
Wednesday October 10, 2018

 

            7:30 pm           Informal gathering meet in the lobby of the George Hotel

 

Thursday October 11, 2018 Memorial Student Center Room 2406B

           

           7:45 am          Bus departs the Hotel George

8:00 am          Continental Breakfast Center Room 2406A

           8:30 am          Welcome

                                  Jay Maddock, Ph.D. Dean

                                  School of Public Health

                                  Texas A&M University

 

            8:45 am         Economics and the ACA

Tiffany Radcliff, moderator

 Texas A&M, School of Public Health

Trade-offs between Extensive and Intensive Margin Selection in Competitive Insurance Markets - Paper

Tim Layton, Harvard University

Layton@hcp.med.harvard.edu

Discussant: Jason Hockenberry – Emory University

                                 jason.hockenberry@emory.edu

 

Administrative Pricing, Incentive Alignment, and Medical Market Competition - Paper

Michael Richards, Baylor University

Michael_Richards@baylor.edu

                                 Discussant: Mike Geruso, University of Texas – Austin

                                 mike.geruso@gmail.com

                                 Break

 

How Do Low-Income Enrollees in the Affordable Care Act Exchanges Respond to Cost-Sharing? - Paper

Thomas DeLeire Georgetown University

thomas.deleire@georgetown.edu

                                Discussant: Michael Richards, Baylor University

                                Michael_Richards@baylor.edu

 

            11:45 am       Lunch – Sponsored by Stata Corp.

 

            12:45 pm      Pollutants and Health

Jason Lindo, moderator

Texas A&M University, Department of Economics

Diesel Emissions, Pollution, and Health Outcomes – Paper

Diana Alexander, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago

dianeealexand@gmail.com  

Discussant:  Anastasia Shcherbakova , Texas A&M Dept. of Agricultural Economics   ashcherb@tamu.edu

 

Flint Water Contamination and Children’s Health: Analysis of Medicaid Claims

David Slusky, Wayne State University

david.slusky@ku.edu

                                Discussant:   Michael Morrisey, Texas A&M University

                                morrisey@tamhsc.edu

 

                                 Break

2:45 pm         Pharmaceutical Issues

Joanna Lahey, moderator

Texas A&M, Bush School of Government and Public Service

The Zero-Price Effect Using Field Data: An application to the market for generic pharmaceuticals – Paper

Andrew Ching, Johns Hopkins Carey Business School

andrew.ching@jhu.edu

                                Discussant:   Robert Ohsfeldt, Texas A&M University

                                rohsfeldt@sph.tamhsc.edu

 

Under the Umbrella of Moral Hazard: A Field Experiment with Flu Vaccines - Paper

Roberto Mosquera, Texas A&M University

robmun12@tamu.edu

                                Discussant: John Brooks, University of South Carolina

                                JBROOKS2@mailbox.sc.edu

 

4:45 pm          Bus to Hotel & Museum

5:00 pm          Free Time to Visit the Bush Library

6:30 pm          Dinner    

 

Friday – October 12, 2018 – Memorial Student Center Room 2404

7:45 am        Bus departs Hotel George

8:00 am        Continental Breakfast

8:30 am         Issues of Pricing

Laura Dague, moderator

Texas A&M, Bush School of Government and Public Service

Targeting with In-kind Transfers: Evidence from Medicaid Home Care – Paper

Ethan Lieber, University of Notre Dame

Ethan.Lieber.2@nd.edu

                                 Discussant: Marguerite Burns – University of Wisconsin

                                 meburns@wisc.edu

 

Does the individual mandate affect insurance coverage? Regression kink evidence from the population of tax returns – Paper

Daniel Sacks, Indiana University

dansacks@indiana.edu

Discussant: Sebastian Tello-Trillo, University of Virginia

dst2c@virginia.edu

 

Break

Physician-Industry Interactions: Persuasion and Welfare – Paper

Matthew Grennan, University of Pennsylvania

grennan@wharton.upenn.edu

                                Discussant: Stephen Schwab, Army-Baylor University

                                Stephen_Schwab@baylor.edu

 

            11:45 am      Closing remarks

                                 Michael Morrisey, Texas A&M University

                                 Jason Hockenberry, Emory University

 

            12:00 pm      Box Lunch